OFF DUTY pt. 2

***

Listen to this song with me as you scroll through this post!

***

And here we are–part two of my collaboration with the wonderful Tanya from Students Off Duty.

DSC_0324 copy

In last week’s post, I talked a lot about creative energy, and where I’m trying to invest that. Closely related to that topic is the issue of identity, which I want to discuss a little today. #BigQuestions amirite.

DSC_0329DSC_0331DSC_0335DSC_0338 copy

There’s something in your life that you love. You have a hobby, an activity or a career plan that goes beyond simply being ‘enjoyable’ and gives you life and energy and a sense of purpose. I think there’s a reason for that. I think you were made to do that.

I’m not trying to dictate or give ~life advice~ on what job you should take or what you should be doing with your life right now, but I think it’s super important to identify the things in your life that make you feel more like you. When you engage in this particular activity, you feel like a better part of you is developing, you feel like you’re able to become someone of importance, of significance, someone who can give back to the world in some way. Very often–and this happens a lot in my life–we get so entrenched in our school work, day jobs, or some other responsibility and we don’t engage enough with this life-giving activity. We begin to feel stale, stressed out, drained or sometimes even depressed.

DSC_0342 copyDSC_0346DSC_0360 copyDSC_0364DSC_0321

When I post something on Instagram and I’m really happy with the way it looks, I feel extremely content and satisfied. That might sound super ridiculous and maybe even pathetic to some people, but I think there’s a deeper reason for that. When I’ve just gone through an amazing photoshoot, and I’m sat on my sofa editing photos in preparation for my next blog post, I feel excited and creative and wonderful. And I think there’s a deeper reason for that. When I research Masters programs at the top fashion institutes in the world, I feel motivated to work and study harder now so that I can become a stronger applicant. There’s a deeper reason for that!

I have no idea if blogging and fashion is going to be a bigger part of my future, or even if it will develop into a career, but I know I feel energised and alive when I engage in these activities and I think it’s because, on some level, I was built to be creative and this is my mode of expressing it. I aim to develop my passions into something that will allow me to contribute to the world, God’s Kingdom, a community, or even just an individual that I love. There’s a quality unique to you that empowers you in the same way. If you don’t know what it is find itIf you know what it is, develop it.

DSC_0377DSC_0378DSC_0421DSC_0423DSC_0426

One thing that’s important (but also extremely difficult) about Loving other people deeply is that you understand what their ‘quality’ is, and help them develop it and bring it out in the best way possible. You know, God made us so different and unique and that is such an amazing thing to me. When I meet other people, sometimes I think I know what’s best for them, when actually–God knows what’s best for them. All I have to do is identify what God has already implemented into them–that passion or quality that makes them uniquely individual and beautiful and significant–and help them express and develop it in the best ways.

DSC_0412DSC_0413DSC_0416DSC_0462 copy

Okay lolz so this post was a lot more serious in tone than usual, and kind of rambly and all over the place, but these are thoughts that have been mulling about in my head recently. The tone of the post is serious, but a lot of the pictures are of me being smiley and happy because it is GOOD NEWS that we can have a quality or passion that makes us unique and fabulous human beanz and allow us to make important contributions to the world we live in!

I would really love to one day be the type of person who can Love in the ways I described above. I think it’s important for helping people realise who they are, Who/What their identity is in, and how they can be most at ease with themselves. I hope you want to be that kind of person too! Channel the passion or quality that makes you you, and help others do the same.

Now for some quick outfit deetz cuz let’s be real my outfit is fab:

Pink Suede Jacket from Dreamland Vintage

Whatever Forever baby tee by Jac Vanek

Black skinny jeans from Å Land

Black suede cut-out boots from Ark

Love and peace to you all. Talk soon & stay trippy xoxo

∙ vienna ∙

Leave a Reply

