RAINBOW ISLAND (5 Festival Fashion Dos and Don’ts)

There is a t-shirt by Jac Vanek that says “All I care about is food, music festivals, and maybe like three people.” This reflects my life philosophy very accurately. That’s why, when I was offered a free press pass to Rainbow Island Music Festival, “no” wasn’t even an option. Sure, I’m not into K-Pop. Sure, I wouldn’t understand any of the lyrics even if I was into K-Pop. And sure, I only knew one artist (Beenzino). But it was a free ticket and I love love music festivals.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Rainbow Island is a very “Korean” affair. Many of the other big music festivals in Korea have foreign bands and DJs as their headliners, and so you get a relatively strong foreign presence in the audience. At Rainbow Island Festival, however, almost all the artists are Korean, as are the people there. For this reason, festival fashion in Korea is still evolving in many ways. The usual crop tops and fringing you would see at Coachella haven’t quite hit the trend over here, and the majority of people I saw were dressed in t-shirts and shorts that were barely fancier than their everyday wear. Despite this, there are general rules to pertain to concerning festival fashion when you go to any music festival. If you’re going to any this summer, take note.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

1. Let’s talk about shoes

Do your research. If you know that the grounds are gonna be mucky (Glastonbury, anyone?), DON’T WEAR YOUR WHITE CONVERSE. If you know it’s going to be raining, DON’T WEAR YOUR SUEDE ZIP UP BOOTIES. For Rainbow Island, I knew that it would rain at some point in the afternoon (and it did… for 3 frickin’ hours), so I ditched my white hi-top chucks and switched to my LazyOafxJuju sandals. Life saver.

2. Skirts

As in–don’t. At least, not mini-skirts. Unless you want creepers staring at your a$$ while you’re jumping up and down and dancing. Maxi-skirts are a yes, but again–do your research if you don’t want to ruin your clothes. Shorts and rompers are your cutest (and most comfortable!) options, in my opinion.

3. Flower crowns

This is a great option if you want to look like everyone else.

4. Bags

Cutie bumbags are the way to go. Small bags that go across the shoulder, or small stylish backpacks are also solid. Basically you want to avoid having to adjust your bag every two seconds while you’re werking your award-winning dance moves.

5. For the laydiez–

Those sticky strapless/backless bras do wonders.

And here’s my own festival fashion outfit! I’m wearing a crop top and shorts from H&M, a floral kimono-like shirt from a thrift shop, and my LazyOafxJuju jelly sandals.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

This is a picture of me not being able to take myself seriously (again lol).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Back to putting my blogger game-face on.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

H&M ‘NOT YOUR GIRL’ crop top

thrifted floral kimono(ish) shirt

H&M white shorts

LazyOafxJuju jelly sandals

heart sunglasses from Rokit

(fake–oopz) Vivienne Westwood bag from ultrafashion

Happy festivalin’! ♡

Stay trippy,

∙ vienna ∙

Leave a Reply

