♛ QUEEN OF HOXTON ♚

Here’s the second edition of my “omg I love East London so much” series. (Not actually a series–but maybe it could be, because that’s how great East London is). I love London so much because I’m always spoilt for choice of bars/cafés, and honestly, they can never get boring because they’re all so creative. Queen of Hoxton is the epitome of this in my mind, because they always change things up.

DSC_0522

The evening my friend and I visited, we walked in to a chorus of ukulele players jamming out, because they just so happened to be having a ukulele night! There was also a ping-pong table out and two people were enjoying a game when we entered the venue. Queen of Hoxton has a club space in the basement, in addition to the general bar space where the ukulele event was happening, but my friend and I had our hearts on the roof. “What’s was on the roof?” you may be wondering.

A WIGWAM.

That’s right, for the winter season, Queen of Hoxton had a freakin’ wigwam on the roof of their building. It was beautifully decked out with fairy lights, wood chips on the ground, and tree stumps for tables and stools! Outside, there were open fires where people could buy marshmallows at the bar to roast. There was a large grill in the middle of the wigwam with a variety of woodland-sy food, which was such a cool new experience for me, as well as so adorable and fitting for the wigwam/woodland theme. And the drinks? Perfect.

DSC_0525 DSC_0524 DSC_0553 DSC_0535 DSC_0542My friend and I went for dinner as well as a few chill drinks. I ordered a venison burger, while she ordered a boar sausage. Both came with a side of creamy mash and coleslaw. As for the drinks, we both ordered a hot spiced apple-buttered rum that came in the cutest lil’ tin mugs. It was fruity, and sweet, yet so warming and homey. The overall vibe of the place was one of comfort, and honestly it’s probably one of the best experiences I’ve had in a while.

DSC_0550 DSC_0564DSC_0554 DSC_0563DSC_0529 DSC_0523(Couldn’t get a proper picture of the food because it was so yumz we gobbled it up.)

Overall, I highly recommend spending the evening at Queen of Hoxton if you’re ever in the Shoreditch/Hoxton area. There’s probably something new up on the roof by now, so if you’re ever there, feel free comment to let me know what’s new!

A thousand thanks & kisses to my homegirl Jessica Kim for the photos.

Much love, stay trippy, xoxo

∙ vienna ∙

2 thoughts on “♛ QUEEN OF HOXTON ♚

Leave a Reply

