FIKA

I’ve recently become enamoured to a café and Scandinavian interior design shop called FIKA, located in 가로수길 (Garosugil) here in Korea.

IMG_3201

FIKA means “coffee break” in Swedish, and the building consists of a café on the second floor and a homeware/interior design shop below. I wanted to come to this place a few times before blogging about it, just because there were so many things on the menu that I wanted to try and write about!

The first time I went, I ordered their take on the classic Swedish meatballs.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetAs shown above, the dish came in the cutest little pan, paired with mashed potatoes and topped with grilled onions. Bread, lingonberry sauce, pickles and “gravy” (it wasn’t really gravy at all, but still tasted good) were served on the side. The only other version of Swedish meatballs I have to compare it to are the ones I had at IKEA as a child. They do not taste similar at all, but both are still delicious. Maybe someone who is actually Swedish and is familiar with the dish could tell me what it’s actually supposed to be like? Either way, I enjoyed this meal thoroughly, along with a cappuccino, which has become somewhat of a staple for me.

My friend ordered one of their red velvet cakes. All I can say is, if you actually end up coming here, buy this.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset(Half-eaten cake in picture because it was too delicious.)

The second time I came, I ordered a lingonberry and grilled cheese sandwich whilst my friend ordered the berry pancakes. Both these dishes were quite cheap. The pancakes were only 8,000 won whilst the sandwich was 9000 won, 11,000 for a sandwich-americano set. Many other brunch places would charge anywhere from 13-16,000 won for a similar dish.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

After we ate, I popped down to take a quick picture of the interior design shop. Garosugil has a few of these Scandinavian-inspired design stores, and all of them are ridiculously expensive. Not gonna lie though, the products are adorable, simple and if I had the moola I would probably buy everything.

IMG_3200If you’re in town, I definitely recommend a visit. Boto Açai is right across the road for those of you who are just as much a part of the açai craze as I am, so you can pop over for a bowl after a coffee and cake at FIKA!

∙ vienna ∙

8 thoughts on “FIKA

  1. In my experience meatballs are more often served with cooked potatoes than with mashed potatoes. Mash potatoes are more work and this is a course originating in the common cuisine of Sweden. Gravy is really only brown sauce made with the leftover fat when you fry the meatballs, that is you take a tablespoon of flour and mix with the leftover fat from frying, add water and color it with a soy sauce. The soy sauce in older days was only for colouring and didn´t taste anything.
    But you can spice your meatballs anyway you like but traditionally they were very bland, with grated yellow onions, salt and pepper. And you can make meat loaves with the same mixture which saves a lot of work rolling the small meat balls.
    I found a recipe in English http://www.food.com/recipe/swedish-meatballs-125908 even though it uses red onions instead and a lot of spices it could be used.
    Good luck and I wish you a great day!

Leave a Reply

